workspace: Rename "Discard" to "Discard Edits" in file conflict prompt (#55870)

When a file has unsaved edits and has also changed on disk, the conflict
prompt offered "Overwrite / Discard / Cancel". Both "Overwrite" and
"Discard" were directionally ambiguous, it wasn't clear whether the disk
contents or the buffer edits would be lost. "Discard Edits" makes it
explicit that the buffer edits are thrown away and the disk version is
reloaded.

Release Notes:

- Improved the file conflict prompt by renaming the "Discard" button to
"Discard Edits" to clarify that unsaved edits are discarded in favor of
the on-disk contents.

---------

Co-authored-by: Smit Barmase <heysmitbarmase@gmail.com>
This commit is contained in:
Agani Daniel .SandSmit Barmase authored and GitHub committed 2026-07-20 06:58:37 +00:00
1 parent 4eb6383ad8
commit a77838bb98
2 files changed
+2 -2

No files matched your search

+1 -1
View File
@@ -2344,7 +2344,7 @@ impl Pane {
PromptLevel::Warning,
CONFLICT_MESSAGE,
None,
&["Overwrite", "Discard", "Cancel"],
&["Overwrite", "Discard Edits", "Cancel"],
cx,
)
})?;
+1 -1
View File
@@ -12410,7 +12410,7 @@ mod tests {
assert!(cx.has_pending_prompt());
// Cancel saving item 3.
cx.simulate_prompt_answer("Discard");
cx.simulate_prompt_answer("Discard Edits");
cx.executor().run_until_parked();
// Item 3 is reloaded. There's a prompt to save item 4.